The Governing Body

The School Governors

On behalf of the Governing Body, thank you for taking the time to look at our school’s website/ prospectus.

At Blakesley CE Primary School we aim to serve the community by providing a high standard of education to all pupils. We recognise that all children are individuals and as such will have different skills and abilities and we will work to encourage all pupils in their endeavours. As a Church of England School we have strong links with all of our local churches. Regular visits are made by the children to our village Church and the Rector makes regular visits to School.

The role of the Governors is to support the Head Teacher and staff, to provide guidance and direction and to ask searching questions to obtain an overview of the working of the school. We aim to ensure that the school is a place where all children will flourish.

We meet termly as a full Governing Body but also on other occasions as committees to look at specific areas of the school’s operation. All of the full Governing Body meetings are minuted; copies of the minutes are available from the school office. Occasionally we need to discuss confidential matters and, although minutes are made, the papers are not made available.

At present there are Governors drawn from across the local community, the local Church (foundation governors), parents (who are elected for a term of 4 years), those that represent the local authority, the Head teacher and a member of each teaching and non-teaching staff. The current Governors are;

Governor Type  Governor Name



Foundation Mr Paul Parsons

 Premises Committee/Appeals Panel



Local Authority Mrs Sophie Stuart-Buttle

Chair of Standards Committee/Premises Committee/Appeals Panel/SEN/School Environment and Display/Modern British Values


Associate Governor Mr Robert Ward

Vice Chair/Chair of Premises Committee/Strategy Group/Appeals Panel/Maths (including EYFS)


Headteacher Ms Lucy Burman

Strategy Group/Standards Committee/Resources Committee/Premises Committee

 1/1/13 onwards

Non-teaching staff Mrs Lauren Leeson

Standards Committee


Community Mrs Maxine Conway

Standards Committee/English (including EYFS)


Parent Mr Ian Gardner

Resources Committee/Strategy Group/Non-Core Subjects

Community Mrs Sarah Hyatt

Chair/Resources Committee/Strategy Group/Safeguarding, Safer Recruitment and Pupil Premium


Associate Governor Mrs Joanne Wilkins

Resources Committee/Science & Computing


Associate Governor Mr Malcolm Alphonso

Standards Committee/Sports Premium and Pupil Premium


Associate Governor

Associate Governor Mrs Alexia Simon

 Resources Committee/Maths (including EYFS)




Please address, in the first instance any query/concern to the individual member of staff or the Head teacher. If you feel your query/concern has not been answered to your satisfaction, then feel free to bring this to the attention of the Governing Body. We can be contacted through the school office.

Sarah Hyatt
Chairperson of Governors

Please see our Governance Manual 2015-2016 (in the Key Information section) for more details of our work including Committee structures and responsibilities.

Last modified onThursday, 30 March 2017 15:14